360MC CW2 Research and Development Inspirations

I have been inspired by many photographers to come up with an idea for my final major project.

Firstly; Mihaela Noroc is a 30-year-old travelling photographer from Romania. She is well known for her photography project called The Atlas Of Beauty. She has visited 45 countries so far. She was inspired during her vacations at how diverse our world is. She photographs women from all over the world to be able to show ‘the unnoticed beauty which lies in people around us.’ (Noroc, n.d.) It is so inspiring that she has successfully been able to show how diverse and how beautiful everyone is in their own way. It would be my dream to be able to capture the beauty that every woman is special and unique.

There are many photos she has captured that are in the very town from where the participants are from. Unfortunately, I will not have the budget to be able to travel the world. I believe that the UK is so multicultural that I will be able to capture the many beauties that are hidden within the UK to send a strong and powerful message to aim to show diversity and acceptance of one another. I want to encourage and inspire equality and curiosity to know more about each other so we can learn from one another, support and care. The world has become so negative and full of rage from fear that I want to shed some light on the beauty that we have forgotten to see, blinded by fear. Mihaela said it well ‘Many people from all around the world face discrimination just because they have a certain colour, religion, ethnicity or because they are women. I think beauty is diversity and it can teach us to be more tolerant.’ (Noroc, n.d.)

I want to be able to capture that message within my own photography project and challenge my audience to feel the same.

I have also been inspired by Mehmet Genc project called You Are Beautiful. It is such an inspiring project to show the effects of positivity and happiness of the reactions that were gained when women were simply told they were beautiful. He is also fortunate to visit many countries from ‘South America, including Brazil, Ecuador, Guatemala, and Colombia’ (Coughlin, 2017) The before and after photos just compliment and show happiness. The simple act of kindness inspires me to illustrate in my work a heart warming smile and spread happiness to others around you.

There is very specific photo that I adore and has inspired me to pursue and experiment with to be able to challenge my audience and send a powerful message of acceptance and curiosity

Screen Shot 2017-06-18 at 4.55.17 PM.png

There so many elements and layers to this reaction photo that I am inspired to experiment using different participants from all over the world and create a sense of mystery and curiosity.

I believe there is an element of childlike and play with the added smile and it makes you release we were all a child once. Her eyes are covered, we can’t make a full connection with her, her reasons for covering her eyes we don’t know and that’s the curiosity that’s sparked within me.

I want to be able to make a project using these elements and see what my audiences reaction will be. I want to show a diverse universe and also be able to tell a story to show and represent our world today but still be able to find and show beauty within it.

Bibliography

Coughlin, S. (2017). These Photos Show How People Around The World React To Being Called “Beautiful”. [online] Refinery29.com. Available at: http://www.refinery29.com/2017/01/135144/you-are-so-beautiful-photographs-mehmet-genc?utm_source=facebook.com&utm_medium=post&utm_campaign=video&unique_id=entry_135144 [Accessed 25 Feb. 2017].

Noroc, M. (n.d.). About Mihaela Noroc. [online] The atlas of beauty. Available at: http://theatlasofbeauty.com/about [Accessed 25 Feb. 2017].

Leave a Reply

