360MC CW2 -FMP Proposal (Random Ideas)

From the start of the year, I have had a couple of ideas to make my Final Major Project. I first wanted to make a documentary about Young Carers. I am a Young Carer myself and I want to share more information and educate others about who and what we do because the majority of people don’t know. However, I made a mini-artifact for CW1 in my house and ever since then I realised how hard it would be to film my family. I will not be able to construct a narrative I wanted because it is a really sensitive and personal story to me. At this point in my life, I don’t think I could have made the documentary the best it can be. I have thought about using other Young Carers but the deadline is approaching fast and I won’t have the time or take the risk just in case something goes wrong.

Then I thought about making a Sketch, using my family’s stories and personality’s just having actors and a more constructed environment. It could have the potential of becoming a TV show. For instance, The Goldbergs (The Goldbergs, 2013) This is a comedy TV show that is set in the 1980s and created by Adam F. Goldberg and is based on his childhood. I thought it could be a possibility to take a sensitive topic of my life and convey it through the use of other people. However, I can only imagine the amount it will cost me and take me long to write to convey the perfect script across. I think it is a very ambition idea, however, I will not be ready to take this project on in this current stage.

I have another idea in mind and at this moment I am thinking of creating a project that is more current around the massive divide between people since Brexit and Trump. I am currently developing an idea to hopefully convey the challenges we face today and learn to accept one another. I am trying to think around the many different formats I can create this project from a short film to a documentary.

Bibliography

The Goldbergs, (2013). [TV programme] ABC.

Leave a Reply

