Primary Research for Artefact 3- Imagine

 

My third year of Media Production at Coventry contains a module called 360MC, Research and Development to support us before the production of our FMP (Final Major Project.) The module includes producing three creative artefacts around three different themes to explore, experiment and influence our FMP.

My final artefact is based on the theme of imagine/imagination. It reminds me of John Lennon song ‘Imagine’ where the world is peaceful, there is no greed and hunger and everyone is nice to each other. No more War and Hurt. To explore what the wonderful world has to offer us and bring peace to the world.

To other people in my class, if I ask them what do you think imagine means to them. They answers were; sometimes their imagination can lead them to very dark places in their mind and possibly reveal something about themselves that could be good or bad. While reading or listening to music, they can imagine the action and bring the text to life or interpret the lyrics to what they imagine it means to them. It helps to build the connection with the author or artist and keeps the imagination alive.

Others loved connecting the imagination with their dreams and what was interesting is that some people couldn’t tell the difference if it was real or not. Imagination is unlimited and it allows you to do anything. There is also a very interesting link there because some people can Lucid Dream. A Lucid Dream is where one is aware that they are dreaming; being able to control your dream, your imagination is the only limitation.

However I know from experience that I do not or choose to Lucid Dream I find it very scary, when I realise that I am dreaming I have the urge to wake myself up because my brain knows that in reality I’m just dreaming and no matter how hard I scream no one can hear. I don’t find it enjoyable. I also know one other person that feels the same about Lucid Dreaming. However people seek to be able to Lucid Dream, so imagination can be the limitation and is dependent on the person.

I want to be able to explore the positive side of imagination to be able to give my audience the chance to be able to stretch their imagination and feel like they are free and peaceful. I want to be able to show how people can escape their reality without being scared and let their minds take them on a journey.

Leave a Reply

